FranklinIs Connected

Shrimp Boil & Community Volunteer Awards July 13


Shrimp Boil & Community Volunteer Awards July 13

In keeping with its focus on the environment and recreation, the winners of this year’s Franklin Tomorrow’s annual Anne T. Rutherford Exemplary Community Volunteer Awards and Volunteer Spirit Awards will be honored by tree plantings in Franklin city parks.

The organization’s seventh annual Shrimp Boil is set for Saturday, July 13, at Berry Farms subdivision on Lewisburg Pike at Goose Creek Bypass. Tickets are $50 per person, $25 for children 6-18 and may be purchased online at

The event is being presented by Berry Farms, a Boyle Development; Pinnacle Financial Partners; Williamson Medical Center; and Vanderbilt Health, among a host of other sponsors.

In 2007, Franklin Tomorrow established the Anne T. Rutherford Exemplary Community Volunteer Award to honor the decades of service and tremendous impact that Mrs. Rutherford has had in Franklin. In following years, the awards grew to include Volunteer Spirit and the Youth Initiative Awards to allow for more people to be honored for selflessly supporting local non-profit organizations or agencies.

While award winners will receive a certificate on Saturday when the announcement is made, they also will be honored later this year by the planting of a tree in their honor in one of the city’s parks later this year. Outdoor Classic Structures on Second Avenue South in Franklin is assisting with the selection of appropriate trees. Plaques will be placed by the trees to honor the individual.

“By planting a tree in honor of the award winners, their legacy of service will be further enhanced,” said Kathie Moore, Franklin Tomorrow Board president. “George Orwell once wrote, ‘The planting of a tree, especially one of the long-living hardwood trees, is a gift which you can make to posterity at almost no cost and with almost no trouble, and if the tree takes root it will far outlive the visible effect of any of your other actions…”

While the recipients of the Anne T. Rutherford Award, Volunteer Spirit Awards, and Youth Initiative Awards are being kept a secret until Saturday night, the names of two honorees have been announced. The late Dr. Craig Ferrell, nominated by BrightStone, and the late Ed Moody, nominated by the Franklin Noon Rotary Club, will receive the Ned Lea Volunteer Contribution Award, which was created in 2011 to posthumously honor an exemplary volunteer. The Volunteer Spirit Awards are given to individuals who are involved in either a variety of community activities or primarily in one organization as a significant volunteer. This individual stands out as altering the environment around them simply by their service and heart for the community. Three awards may be The Youth Initiative Award is open to individuals under the age of 21 and are involved in either a variety of community activities or primarily in one organization as a significant volunteer. This individual stands as a standard of service for the youth in our community.

Other sponsors for the event include Additional sponsors include Regent Homes, Ford Custome Homes & Gregg & Raines, three of the homebuilders at Berry Farms; Tim & Angie Murphy; FirstBank; Buerger, Moseley & Carson; Kathie Moore; Century Construction; State Rep. Charles Sargent; State Rep. Glen Casada; State Rep. Jack Johnson; Middle Tennessee Electric Membership Corp.; Gary Minor; Vanderbilt Health; Williamson Herald; Lipman Bros.; and County Commissioner Brian Beathard & wife Lisa.

Tickets must be purchased in advance of the event and are $50 per person. Online sales are preferred, but checks made payable to Franklin Tomorrow may be sent to PO Box 383, Franklin, TN, 37065. Be sure to include a phone number and email address with your check so we can keep you abreast of developments regarding the event. For questions, call 794-0998 or send an email to